Log in
Log in

ODC conducted online Idea Development Workshop on October 25 & 26, 2022, over the two days before its Annual Conference. The Workshop was designed to support PhD students or other junior scholars interested in topics related to organization design, by matching each participant with three senior scholars who provided feedback on their proposed study, similar in format to a PhD proposal defense.

The co-chairs of this inaugural workshop are Özgecan Koçak and Tobias Kretschmer. 

Faculty mentors included Carliss Baldwin, Oliver Baumann, Richard Burton, Francisco Brahm, Joe Cheng, Florian Englmaier, Matthias Fahn, Vibha Gaba, Scott Ganz, Dorthe Døjbak Håkonsson, John Joseph, Rob Kazanjian, Ronald Klingebiel, Borge Obel, Marlo Raveendran, Metin Sengul, Kannan Srikanth, Gurneeta Vasudeva, and Brian Wu.

Workshop Plan

The workshop consisted of parallel feedback sessions of one hour each, running from 10 am to 12 noon ET each day. Each feedback session consisted of a 10-minute presentation by the participant, 5- minute comments by each senior scholar, and open discussion. The feedback sessions was open only to program participants and applicants. We also encouraged student participants to prepare questions for a half-hour panel that concluded each day's program.

Who participated

We welcomed participants from all stages of a PhD program, post-docs, and junior faculty.


Özgecan Koçak

Özgecan Koçak is associate professor of Organization & Management at Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. She holds a Ph.D. in organizational behavior from the Graduate School of Business at Stanford University.

Tobias Kretschmer

Tobias Kretschmer is professor and head of the institute at Institute for Strategy, Technology and Organization, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Munich School of Management. He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from London Business School.

Idea Development Workshop

25th and 26th October, 2022

Faculty mentors

Carliss Baldwin

Harvard Business School, USA

Oliver Baumann

Syddansk Universitet, Denmark

Richard Burton

Duke University, USA

Francisco Brahm

London Business School, England

Joe Cheng

University of Illinois, USA

Florian Englmaier

LMU Munich, Germany

Matthias Fahn

Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria

Vibha Gaba

INSEAD, Singapore

Scott Ganz

American Enterprise Institute, USA

Dorte Døjbak Håkonsson

Aarhus University, Denmark

John Joseph

University of California, Irvine, USA

Rob Kazanjian

Goizueta Business School, USA

[image missing]

Ronald Klingebiel

Frankfurt School of Finance and Management, Germany

Børge Obel

Aarhus University, Denmark

Marlo Raveendran

University of California, Riverside, USA

Metin Şengül

Boston College, USA

Kannan Srikanth

The Ohio State University, USA

Gurneeta Vasudeva

University of Minnesota, USA

Brian Wu

University of Michigan, USA


Day 1 - Oct 25th

7am PST/10pm SGT (1 hour)

Parallel Feedback Sessions A.1, B.1, C.1

8am PST/11pm SGT (1 hour)

Parallel Feedback Sessions A.2, B.2, C.2

9am PST/12am SGT (half hour)

Ask the Faculty panel

Day 2 - Oct 26th

7am PST/10pm SGT (1 hour)

Parallel Feedback Sessions D.1, E.1, F.1

8am PST/11pm SGT (1 hour)

Parallel Feedback Sessions D.2, E.2, F.2

9am PST/12am SGT (half hour)

Ask the Faculty panel

Join us

Membership in the community is open to any individual, firm, organization or institution with an interest in advancing the knowledge and practice of organization design and who wish to support and enhance ODC's mission.


Contact us

Organizational Design Community
Co/Department of Management
Aarhus BSS, Aarhus University
Fuglesangs Alle 4
DK-8210 Aarhus V

CVR: 33843615

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software